iPhone keeps re-associating with old Apple ID after restart

I had a phone tied to my current Apple ID. I gave that phone to a relative, and at the time that relative created their Apple ID and added it to the phone while my Apple ID was still the primary email. Meaning that, for a bit, that phone was still tied to my Apple ID.


Note that at the time I was signed in on my personal phone with my Apple ID as well, therefore two devices were using that ID as the primary email.


After removing that Apple ID from the relative’s phone, and adding their own Apple ID as the primary email, every time they power their phone down and then power it back up, they are prompted to verify their phone using a code sent to my phone. After this, that device is once again added as one listed under my Apple ID.


Both me and said relative prioritize our privacy, so we do not wish to have devices and Apple IDs that are not our own associated with our personal use.


Can anyone assist me in remedying this? Has this happened to anybody else?

iPhone 13, iOS 26

Posted on Sep 28, 2026 6:34 AM

Reply
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Sep 28, 2026 8:34 AM

There is only one safe way to hand an iPhone to another person, so that the iPhone can be used with a different Apple Account.

Have a look at this article:

What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support


You should erase the old iPhone as described and set it up as a new device and start setting it up with the new credentials.





10 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Sep 28, 2026 8:34 AM in response to 2manyerrors

There is only one safe way to hand an iPhone to another person, so that the iPhone can be used with a different Apple Account.

Have a look at this article:

What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support


You should erase the old iPhone as described and set it up as a new device and start setting it up with the new credentials.





Sep 28, 2026 9:47 AM in response to 2manyerrors

Private information can be stored in all kinds of locations on an iPhone and the only way to completely ensure a device is reset properly is to follow the directions in the link provided in an earlier post, namely What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support


Depending upon the degree of resetting that your relative did prior to starting to use the iPhone, you may still find that some of your data (e.g., photos) transferred to that person's iCloud and may reappear when the relative signs in again. In that case they will have to respect your wishes and delete that information.


This is the service prompting for a code and it is because your Apple Account is still signed into a private service on the iPhone: Get a verification code and sign in with two-factor authentication - Apple Support






Sep 28, 2026 9:53 AM in response to Limnos

Thanks for providing further context! I’ve been wondering why it’s showing up despite removing it from every visible corner, so I suppose it’s only logical the problem is because we haven’t removed it from one we can’t exactly pinpoint immediately. Wiping the device seems like the most sensible option, I will discuss all of this with them. Thank you again, very much!

Sep 28, 2026 9:57 AM in response to 2manyerrors

2manyerrors wrote:
Thanks! I figured wiping the device might solve the issue. Likely, that relative might be a bit hesitant to wipe the device, so I may have to wait till they get a new device and then wipe that old one. Thank you for informing me though, I’ll discuss this with them. 👍

Once the new Apple Account is in use on a not-reset iPhone, the data left on a not-reset iPhone is merged, which means resetting and providing a yet-newer iPhone is irrelevant to whatever has already been shared and merged. It’s already happened.

Sep 28, 2026 1:01 PM in response to MrHoffman

We’ve been struggling with this issue for a bit now and one of the things we did to try to remedy it was transfer all of that relative’s things that was (visibly, that we could find) linked to my Apple ID over to theirs, and then completely remove my ID from whatever it was linked to on their phone (which wasn’t much). As of right now, the ID isn’t on their phone and all of their things are completely tied to their Apple ID. The only issue we have is the phone itself requiring that verification each time it is powered off and then powered back on, which I believe is tied to the device itself, no?

iPhone keeps re-associating with old Apple ID after restart

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.