Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Reading iBooks in Landscape Orientation

i really like the iBooks app for reading eBooks and have considered creating my own ePub documents as books that i might sell through my website or attempt to submit for publication.

as a photographer, i would love to create ebook versions of some of my photography books, but my photographs are often landscape oriented. and when you turn the iPad to its landscape orientation, the app shows two side-by-side portrait oriented pages. is there any way to force the iBooks app to show just a single portrait oriented page? when you view books in the iBook app on the iPhone in landscape mode, it shows a single landscape oriented page. it would be nice to have this option on the iPad as well.

showing landscape oriented photos on a portrait oriented page causes the photos to be resized too small and doesn't help to maximize the use of screen real estate.

any way to suggest this to Apple as a feature for the iBooks app?

thanks,
scott

MacPro Dual Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Mac OS X (10.6.2), MacBook Pro 2.0GHz

Posted on Sep 9, 2010 7:39 AM

8 replies

Sep 9, 2010 10:39 AM in response to scott nichol

Strange. I downloaded a .pdf brochure for some camping trailers. The booklet is in a landscape format (pages are actually 8.5" wide by 5.5" tall)and displays properly in iBooks one page at a time when the ipad is in "Landscape" orientation. Since the last programming I did was in Fortran, I can't help much but I presume there is some type of embedded command in the book data itself which results in this. You might look into that. The only thing I see is that the brochure is saved/created by "Acrobat Distiller 8.1.0" and the application is "PScript5.dll Version 5.2.2" - if that helps any.