2307 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Sep 17, 2010 8:22 PM by roaminggnome
The Erase All Content and Settings option on the iPhone is a secure erase and is all that is needed before transferring an iPhone to a new owner. Restoring an iPhone with iTunes as a new iPhone or not from the iPhone's backup is not a secure erase.
There is no need to re-activate a no longer activated iPhone before transferring an iPhone to a new owner. The new owner will need to get a new SIM card from the designated carrier the iPhone is carrier locked with if the iPhone is carrier locked, or if the new owner is an existing subscriber with the carrier the iPhone is carrier locked with, they should be able to use their SIM card being used with another phone to activate the iPhone with the carrier via the iTunes activation process on their computer.
In order to install a firmware update on a no longer activated iPhone or restore a no longer activated iPhone with iTunes if wanted or needed, the no longer activated SIM card must be inserted in the iPhone to complete the process - the SIM card that was used with the iPhone when it was activated.
Message was edited by: Allan Sampson