Previous 1 2 3 Next 30 Replies Latest reply: Jan 27, 2013 9:01 PM by tachikaze Go to original post
  • musaabk Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    Wow this problem has been up here since 2010 and no one found a solution? some support community this is!

     

    My problem is that iPhone threatens to delete all my apps if I choose to "Apply" after choosing the photo folder to sync with.

  • P.O. Level 2 Level 2 (335 points)

    Me too. When ever I try to change any settings. It will not give me the option to sync again. It will always give me the revert option. No apply or sync option at all.

     

    Hs Apple got any fix yet? Seems I am not the only one.

     

    My G4 iphone has updated to 4.3.5

     

    Itune is 10.4

     

    PLEASE HELP!

  • rsageer Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    @eddy_boy Thanks for the tip. It works for me.

  • amazingcomputer Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    I just wanted to update my iPod to iOS5 and got the same question in the end of the update.

     

    I googled but did not find an answer, so I went for "Apply". I pressed "Apply". Then it reverted the process and I´m back to iOS4.3 again.

     

    Then I restarted the "Update" process, which takes about 40 minutes.

     

    Next time I will press "Don´t Apply". Still waiting for the update to finish.

     

    Funny sidenote: To kill the time waiting I´m watching Steve Jobs and how he talks about customer experience and making things better for the customers. This is certainly NOT what he is talking about. This *****.

  • vozoskoda Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    I have the same problem.

     

    Last time, when I clicked "Apply", it deleted all the music from my iphone. That didn't happened since then. (I haven't click on Apply... )

  • Dan_Henese Level 1 Level 1 (10 points)

    Looks like this may be an issues with syncing photos. I found a possible solution, which so far has worked for me, over at this older thread: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2487193?threadID=2487193&tstart=0

     

    The odd thing was that for me, I didn't have any photos synced. Instead, I enabled photo syncing, picked a random folder of pictures, let it put those on the phone, and then unchecked the folder and the "Sync Photos From..." checkbox and synced once again. I'm wondering if maybe in a iOS system restore from backup that I did a while back it picked up some incorrect settings. Enabling and disabling the photo sync may have cleared those settings out.

     

    Hopefully this fix will last and I won't see that annoying error anymore.

  • lkadlec Level 1 Level 1 (10 points)

    I'm having the same/a similar issue.  I have iPhone 4, iOS 5, iTunes 10.5.2.11.  I'm not sure if it started after a particular iTunes update.  While it never happened before I installed iOS 5, I don't think the start of the problem coincided with that particular change, but rather some time after.

     

    Basically, as others have described, after syncing my iPhone, if click on another tab in iTunes (e.g. the "Music" tab for my library), I get the dialogue box that says that I have changed the settings on this iPhone and gives me the option to "Apply" or "Don't Apply."  Except that I haven't changed any settings.  I hadn't done anything unusual with my phone prior to this behavior seemingly randomly started.  I haven't changed any settings, moved my library (as another poster - either in this thread or a related one - reported having done), etc.  I tried the fix of changing my photo syncing (although I was already syncing a particular folder of photos from my Windows 7 laptop, with no issues, for some time before this started happening).  I tried the "reset warnings" fix.  The next time I synced after that everything was fine, but it didn't last. 

     

    Strangely, the only thing that maybe seems to correlate with this "you have changed the settings" message is that I seem to see it if after I sync, while my phone is still selected, I go to the apps tab for my phone.  The iTunes screen that shows the arrangement of all of my apps on my phone loads, and then when I go to click on something else it's as if iTunes thinks that I just told it to sync apps or something, as I get the changed settings dialogue.  I *do* sync apps, but again, I've been doing so since I got the phone, and none of times I've gotten that message have I actually changed those settings.

     

    So...people who changed photo syncing or reset warnings, has the problem gone away completely?

     

    ETA: I should also note that this issue doesn't happen *every* time I sync, and I have no clear sense of a pattern of when it does vs. when it doesn't.

  • Dan_Henese Level 1 Level 1 (10 points)

    Doing both solutions, resetting warnings and enabling then disabling photo syncing, appears to have solved the problem for me. I haven't seen the message since.

     

    Another thing you might try is to quit out iTunes and then in Finder navigate to '/Users/username/Library/Saved Application State'. I think that's the name of the folder, not at my computer right now. Delete the iTunes saved state in there. This will clear out iTunes' last session in case it was remembering some odd setting.

  • Sakahara Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    I've been having the same issue with iPhone 4 (not iPad 2) since Dec. 2011 and was about to post. I think it might have something to do with Photostream or photo syning in general (prior synced pictures). Reset Warnings had no effect, however, once I checked Photos I noticed Sync Photos from,... was unchecked and All photos, projects was checked, although I'm quite certain there were no synced photos on the iPhone, maybe only previous photostream pictures taken with either iPhone or ipad, but recently deleted by turning off. Anyways, once I checked Sync Photos from Aperture and Selected projects, albums,.... no Projects, and then selected one album with a few pictures and clicked Sync, there was a message about pictures being previosuly synced from other ??? and that these would be replaced but not the pictures on the iPhone ????... something to that affect. I should have wrote it down or snap a screen shot but I went ahead and clciked Replace Photos. And after that it was fine. No more Revert/Apply after Sync.

  • schmevan Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    I'm having a similar problem. My iPhone works fine on my partner's MacBook but not on my PC with Windows 7. It's recognised by iTunes and I've restored it using the PC but anytime I make a change through iTunes it just gives the Revert option, the Apply option is greyed out, same with the Sync option it is always greyed out. The result is that my iPhone works fine but I can't use it to add anything from iTunes on my PC and I can't figure out why. I've tried to Reset Warnings and I don't have Sync Photo's ticked so the aforementioned fixes don't work for me.

  • Hoot Posthorn Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    Great tip about resetting the warnings.

    This solved it for me !

     

    Hoot

  • schmevan Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    My problem related to ZoneAlarm. Whenever I need to sync I turn ZoneAlarm off then reopen iTunes and everything works fine.

  • shurcooL` Level 1 Level 1 (5 points)

    Same problem happening here with my iPhone 3GS, it's been like this for a year or two now.

     

    It happens somewhat intermittently, maybe not everytime, but rather every other time I press sync.

     

    I'm running the very latest versions of iOS, OS X Lion, and iTunes. I've tried Wi-Fi syncing and USB cable syncing, resetting warnings. I've reinstalled OS X from scratch and started with a clean iTunes library, nothing helped. The only thing left is to restore my 3GS to factory settings, but I can't do that because I don't wanna go through the process of getting all my stuff back.

     

    It's pretty annoying...

  • Hoot Posthorn Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

    Excellent tip, thanks much!

     

    Hoot