Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

CUPS Error message when printing from some applications

Hi. I've got an issue when printing from some apps, but not others. Up to a few months ago everything was fine, then it started when Word would not print direct to my printer (Epson Stylus Pro 3880), not a big deal as I don't use it a lot and could print it through Safari if needed. Then more worryingly as a designer I found that PDFs stopped printing direct too, again I can print through Safari and Preview. Last night I installed a firmware update and now InDesign (CS4) is refusing to print!! Not great as printing via Safari/Preview doesn't give me the same level of control over my prints. Just checked both Illustrator and Photoshop and they both print okay. I get the same error code each time "error: /usr/libexec/cups/filter/pstoraster failed" Does anyone know what could be causing this?

Thanks in anticipation. D

Macbook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.4), 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Posted on Oct 12, 2010 5:25 AM

15 replies

Oct 12, 2010 6:35 AM in response to deematso

Welcome to the Apple Discussions area.

This is a strange error as OS X does not install the pstoraster filter. To the best of my knowledge, Ghostscript is the only software that installs this filter. Did you ever install Ghostscript? Do you need Ghostscript for any of your printers to work?

My recommendattion would be to first (re)install Ghostscript from http://www.linuxfoundation.org/collaborate/workgroups/openprinting/macosx/foomat ic. If you need Ghostscript to run your printer, then you should be finished.

If you do not need Ghostscript, then run the uninstaller that is included with the Ghostscript package. That should resolve your problem.

See a similar thread about this at http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=12230105&#12230105