Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhoto'11 - a disappointment.

hello all!

even though i use iPhoto privately, i have some experience in organizing of and working with a large amount of photos in my job. also i would call myself as a rather advanced computer user.

recently i got this new macbook pro and decided to take th offer of apple to buy iLife '11 as a chaep update to preinstalles iLife '09. that was a mistake.

first of all it is very slow and transforms your whole iPhoto library into an iPhoto '11 library, that is not backward compatible. uff!

if i press control-I the common info shortcut i get useless information about tags, faces and places, that take ages to load. adn take a lot of space of the screen.

if i want to print a picture, that was taken in "wide" mode in the format that it was taken (leaving a white border on top an botton) that is simply not possible. had to copy it to desktop and print from preview. good concept, apple!

and another thing: when i insert my sd card (16GB) that i do not empty everytime for backup reasons - i guess i'm not the only one in the world who does that - iPhoto has to read every single picture of the 2000 something and is not able to skip the pictures that were already imported previously into iphoto before doing this. so a typical procedure is: waiting 10minutes for iPhoto, importing with the option "do not import pictures that were already imported" enabled, inding all the pictures that you deleted imported again - nice!
i came to copying the hand-selected pictures to desktop first an then importing them to iPhoto (also very much in accordance with iPhoto's concept of not having to touch anything internal) as the better of two bad soluions.