Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie 11 Projects Have to Be 30fps?

I have a Panasonic TM700 which shoots 1080p60. I used an automator script to rewrap the .mts file as an m4v file and then dropped it into an iMovie Event in the Finder. I then right-clicked on it in iMovie and converted it to the Apple Intermediate Codec for editing. However, when I went to create a project, I noticed that the only option is for 30fps, not 60. Also, when I created a project, it would not let me add the 60fps clip. Yet I seem to remember reading that iMovie 11 supports 1080p at 60fps.

Does everything that iMovie does result in movies that are 30fps or less?

I'm a real novice when it comes to video stuff, so if anyone can shed any light here I'd appreciate it.

MacBook Pro 17" 3GB RAM/Mac Pro 2.66 13GB RAM, Mac OS X (10.6.4), 24" iMac, MacBook, 32GB iPod Touch, Apple TV

Posted on Nov 19, 2010 1:09 PM

38 replies

Nov 19, 2010 3:49 PM in response to Alan Cook2

Tom: I thought maybe I read that on these forums, but maybe not. I'm still a bit confused and just trying to get my head around resolution and frame rates so that I at least have a few clues what I'm doing. I work in graphic design and in that realm I always want to start with the highest resolution/quality available and attempt to maintain it in the workflow as much as possible. Maybe I'm trying too hard to do that in my home video projects. I've been shooting in 1080i60 since I got the camcorder a few weeks ago, but keep wondering if I should be shooting in 1080p60. But then when it involves workarounds to even get the footage into iMovie one wonders if it's worth the trouble.

Guy: I just found a web site where the guy talks about editing the iMovie plist file to make it work with 1080p60, but he doesn't describe the process in any detail--just notes that it can be done. Find it about half way down this page: