Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Transferring Hi8 to digital and using imovie 11

Christmas is coming and I am trying to make a list for me 🙂 but am not sure what to really ask for. I have been trying to read posts here about editing in imovie 11 but I have never worked with video before so I don't know what to do or what I need to accomplish my desires. I have a BUNCH of home videos that we have recorded on hi8 tapes and I want to transfer these to digital. I have asked at a store what to do and they suggested using a device: Sony dvdirect, vrd-mc6 multi-function dvd recorder or dazzle. Another store was selling: VuPoint DVC-ST100B-VP-BX4 Digital Video Converter - AV to SD/SDHC Card. However, none of these do not say they are compatible with apple. I understand that I will get them to dvd with the sony, but then if I ever want to use these videos in imovie will I be able to import them? I am thinking that for the most part, just getting them to dvd would be enough but my daughter is graduating this year and I want to edit some of her in imovie to make a disc of her activities as a graduation gift. I don't even know if I am asking the right questions or if I am just confusing myself more than necessary trying to figure it all out? What formats does imovie 11 accept? Is this the route to go...transferring to dvd with a device or trying to do it all through imovie? I would actually like to create chapters on the dvds but don't know if that is necessary or even possible? Eventually, I would also like to get a new camcorder that is digital and maybe that is what I need to do now/first? I just want to know what the cheapest way to do all this and just don't feel knowledgeable at all in this area so it is very hard for me to research. Is there a way to transfer hi-8 tapes through another digital camcorder to the computer? Would theses cause loss of quality? I don't even know settings that are necessary (I