Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Down-sampling" a pdf

Hi All.

I am new to Mac and have a 24 MB pdf that I need to make available on the web at a reasonable size. It was originally printed out at 300 dpi at 24 x 36 but I don't have access to InDesign (I used the demo). I have Pages and Acrobat Reader but I am not sure if I have Adobe Acrobat for the Mac.

Is there a way to "downsize" this document so that it does not take up so much space? I have tried saving as a jpg and a couple other file formats to no avail.

Thanks.

Mac OS X (10.6.3), Mac Pro, MacBook Pro

Posted on Dec 5, 2010 10:13 AM

13 replies

Dec 5, 2010 12:13 PM in response to fruhulda

Thanks Gents.

I hate to admit it but I kept missing the program help under Help pulldown in favor of mac help.

So I have the file open in Preview but the Tools > Adjust Size pulldown is greyed out which means I have no access to this for some reason. Any ideas?

I will keep the original for printing etcetera but I just want to make one copy at a reasonable size so it can be downloaded and opened off my website for promo purposes. I'd like to make it printable at 8 x 11 inches even though the original was at 24 x 36.

Thanks a ton.

Dec 5, 2010 1:05 PM in response to fruhulda

Hi. Thanks very much. I found it.

Can I please ask you to help me with a couple more things?

For instance, is there a way to see how big the document is either in terms of absolute size or in terms of file size? I know I can do View > Actual Size but can I see this in a dialog box where it tells me the actual units and file size?