Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"About this Mac" (System Profiler) won't open

I have been having some strange problems with my computer. I got a new MBA a couple of weeks ago. I installed 10.6.4 with all the old folders and files from the old computer (MBA too Rev C).

Now "About this Mac won't open". It opened before I shifted everything over to the new computer.

The other thing is that an external USB drive won't mount. It mounts on the Powerbook I have and I can move files from and to it. However, on the new MBA, only the external drive appears. The other part is grayed out, and it doesn't mount, as I have said.

I don't know whether these two things are related or not but I thought I would just mention this other problem I just noticed at the same time. (I will make a new question about it.)

The external USB memory drive is formatted to MacOSX extended journal.

I did repair and verify on Disk Utility and these things checked out OK.

I just checked it on the old MBA (same OS) and it mounts fine and I can manipulate contents of the drive.

Is it something to do with firmware issues?

I just tested another USB memory drive and it has the same problem as the other USB memory drive.

I don't know what my next step is.

I want to use the newer MBA instead of having to use the older MBA and the Powerbook to use the USB memory drives. These USB memory drives are USB 2.0. As I have said they work fine on the other older computers.

On the older MBA, "About this Mac" works fine.