Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Onyx VS Cocktail VS Tinkertool System

Hi everybody!

Well, I'm new in the Apple forum and I'm going to receive my first Apple Notebook, that's the new MacBook Air 13.
Actually, I'm looking for a system utility software to take care of my new Mac. May you help me in this choice with your comments and feedback..?
I've read many articles about, and now I ask you what's the best between Onyx, Cocktail and Tinkertool System..
Thanks a lot for your attention and for your help!
And all the best for the new year!
Bye

Alberto R Air

MacBook Air 13, Mac OS X (10.6.6)

Posted on Jan 12, 2011 7:19 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 12, 2011 7:28 AM

Hello, Alberto, and welcome to the Discussions and the Mac community.

Others may and probably will have other opinions, but I would suggest that at this time you don't get any of those utilities unless and until someone tells you that you need one to solve a problem. Most people never need any of those utilities, and some have features that can get you into serious trouble if you don't know exactly what you're doing.

If you at some point should encounter a problem with your Mac, post back in these forums and there will be many friendly people who will attempt to help you solve your trouble. If any of those utilities will at that time help, you'll be told what to get and how to use it. Then eventually, when you know more about your Mac and how it operates, you can look into the features of the various utilities and decide for yourself which if any you wish to have available.

Regards.
22 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 12, 2011 7:28 AM in response to Alberto R Air

Hello, Alberto, and welcome to the Discussions and the Mac community.