Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Defish A Photo In Aperture

Is there an application within Aperture 3 to defish a fisheye photo? I searched in Aperture "Help" but no results came up. I tried downloading Defish 2.1.1 but that only resulted in getting a text file of gibberish. Please pardon my lack of knowledge, it is because I am brand new to Mac OS.X and my new Mac Book.

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Don

Mac Book, Mac OS X (10.6.6)

Posted on Jan 16, 2011 8:49 AM

7 replies

Jan 16, 2011 10:23 AM in response to d30gaijin

Welcome to the list. Make sure you read the [Help & Terms of Use|http://discussions.apple.com/help.jspa] section when you get a chance.

No way to do that in Aperture, you'll need a plugin or eternal editor. I'm not aware of any, not something I've ever needed to do. Don't know anything about Defish but I found this [link|http://wiki.panotools.org/DeFish] which may help.

Aug 9, 2013 2:51 AM in response to Kirby Krieger

Just looking around at how people would defish a fisheye in Aperture - thinking of adding a Samyang lens to M4/3 gear to get that ultrawide image but having seen Kirby's link to PT Lens when that corrects you have to crop a lot of the image out get rid of the background which has been revealed.

Please for give the really dumb / stupid / rookie question but is this the same for all barrel correction software - I know LR has lens corrections does that do the same thing? If so they this looks like a great way to get into nice clean wide angle pictues - just bearing in mind you'll have to crop some of it away to get the nice clean lines.

Thanks James

Aug 12, 2013 3:26 PM in response to jetset95

James,

Yes. Defishing deforms the image so that straight contours (e.g.: edges of objects) in the scene recorded appear straight in the image, and then trims everything outside the largest rectangle that can be cut from the deformed image.