Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why safari won't ask to save certain user/password?

Hello, I am new to Macs and this forums.

I'm having a small problem with safari is not asking me to save the username and password for certain sites, why is that? I understand that paypal has the "autocomplete=off" but I was able to edit the webcore, so now PayPal is saved. Yes I know that this might be dangerous but my computer never leaves my house.

so its *not asking* for:
MacRumors.com
Hotfile.com
MacUpdate.com
BilletService.no

and *it is asking/saving* for:
PayPal.com
Fileserve.com
drupal.org
deviantart.com
flickr.com (yahoo)
eBay.com
facebook.com
Google.com
etc..

why could this be?

MacBook Pro i7 2.8 8GB, Mac OS X (10.6.6), Safari 5.0.3 (6533.19.4)

Posted on Jan 20, 2011 6:20 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 20, 2011 10:15 AM

Hi,

Go to Safari / Preferences then select the Autofill tab.

Make sure: user names and passwords is selected.

If that box was already checked, open Keychain Access. Select Passwords on the left. Delete all keychains for sites you have problems logging into to.

The next time you visit a site that requires a user name and password, type that information in then click Yes when prompted. A new keychain will be saved for you.

While you have the Keychain Access app open, from the menu bar click Keychain Access / Keychain First Aid. Enter your admin password then select the Verify button, click Start. If necessary, click Repair.

Carolyn 🙂
10 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 20, 2011 10:15 AM in response to philberndt

Hi,

Go to Safari / Preferences then select the Autofill tab.

Make sure: user names and passwords is selected.

If that box was already checked, open Keychain Access. Select Passwords on the left. Delete all keychains for sites you have problems logging into to.