Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Safari very slow as of late.

Hello all. I have been having problems with safari lately and today was it's slowest day ever. I am used to watching HD Youtube videos on my Mac while using photoshop on my Wacom Cintiq and haven't had any speed issues until very recently. I am not entirely sure what changed.

I have tried reseting Safari. Repairing permissions. Disabling plug-ins. etc. and nothing seemed to have helped all that much. Page loading got a bit faster but video play did not and after a few minutes page loading slowed down again as well.

I am rather new to the world of Mac having made the conversion from PCs last year due to viruses etc. My wife has been harassing me as of late because I went with the more expensive Mac rather than a cheaper PC.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

iMac 21", Mac OS X (10.6.6), 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Posted on Jan 23, 2011 12:21 AM

28 replies

Jan 23, 2011 12:33 AM in response to Cliff Roth

Hi and welcome...

Log into another user account on your Mac. Launch Safari and see if it's slow there also.

And check the startup disk for free space. Right or control click the MacintoshHD icon. Click Get Info. In the Get Info window you will see Capacity and Available. *Make sure you always have a minimum of 15% free disk space.*

Carolyn 🙂

Jan 23, 2011 1:46 AM in response to Cliff Roth

Mine too, I think it is since the 10.6.6 update. That's what I came on here about.
It seems to grind to a halt after hours and hours of use, becomes very laggy and then rainbow balls for up to 5-10 minutes and then frees up.