Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture won't export images despite preset modification

I've just downloaded Aperture as an App to enable me to export my photos to a photo library. They have very specific criteria ... 300ppi/image size at least 1750 x1750/level 12 Jpeg or TIFF/1MB-100MB file size etc. I have entered this criteria in Aperture presets but they still fail ... any ideas what I'm doing wrong.
The error message on their site says that the file is only 753KB instead of 1024kb (1mb) even though the info on the image says it is over 1mb/ the size isn't the same as in the preset and that it is only 180ppi - though I realize that the preset asks for dpi which isn't the same as ppi.

Sorry, complete beginner and really need help.

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.6)

Posted on Jan 25, 2011 6:46 AM

6 replies

Jan 26, 2011 3:55 AM in response to Ir. Bob

Hi Bob

I tailored the preset to fotolibra's criteria so I put in:- JPEG - image quality 12 - fit within pixels - width 3000 height 2400 and various amounts in the dpi - I've tried 180/300/320 - all trying to get 300ppi (but the fotolibra error message always says the image reads 180ppi!)Everything else I've left but I must say I have changed these boxes many times trying to find the right combination. I've tried TIFF and different sizes - so far nothing has been right.

After tailoring the preset I then went to fotolibra and used their upload engine which asks me to select the image which I choose from Pictures as it doesn't give me the option to choose from Aperture. The metadata for the image I have been trying to upload to them says it is 4000x3000p (12mp) and 6.52mb which should fit in with fotolibra's requirements but by the time the image gets there the data had changed to 753kb and the dimensions have also changed and are too small on the shortest side.