Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Removing the dreaded evercookie

Can anyone advise how to permanently remove an evercookie? I found Dominic White's blog about removing an evercookie in Safari. He provides a script, but I have little to no experience with running scripts on my Mac. I opened Terminal, pasted the script, and followed the instructions, but it didn't clear the evercookie. In all likelihood, I didn't run the script correctly.

If someone could provide step-by-step instructions for running a script, I would be very grateful. Here is the link to Dominic's blog with the script: http://singe.za.net/blog/archives/1014-Killing-the-Evercookie.html#extended

Thank you!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8), Safari

Posted on Jan 29, 2011 5:10 AM

29 replies

Jan 29, 2011 8:44 AM in response to purplecat

Hi 🙂

the script detailed there is fairly limited, intended to clean up what a full Safari reset leaves behind, ... even then it seems limited, but presumably it does the trick.

anyway, you surely don;t need a script to do that, since all the files removed are in the user's home library folder.

#!/bin/bash
echo "Deleting evercookie locations Safari missed (see samy.pl/evercookie)"
rm -r ~/Library/Safari/Databases/*
rm -r ~/Library/Safari/LocalStorage/*
rm -r ~/Library/Preferences/Macromedia/Flash Player/#SharedObjects/*

echo - just writes to the screen

rm - removes (deletes) files or folders
so there's just three useful lines which remove all the files in these folders
~/Library/Safari/Databases/
~/Library/Safari/LocalStorage/
~/Library/Preferences/Macromedia/Flash Player/#SharedObjects/

You can use Finder to see those yourself & trash them, paste the lines into Safari's address bar if you've any trouble locating them. Trash the whole folder, Safari will create new ones next time it runs.