Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Installed windows 7 on macbook but im having a few problems...

I decided to install windows on my macbook since i want to play games and it is restricted in macbook...

So i installed windows 7 ultimate 32 bit, but i can't open the games i installed because of some directx problem, it literally says that i should install directx 9 which is required for the game. The problem is that i have directx 11 which is up to date and as far as i'm concerned if i have directx 11 i also have directx 9.

I googled the situation and saw that it might be related with some kind of "driver problem". It says that i need to update some of my drivers or something.

Im not an expert about these kind of stuff so i would really appreciate it if someone helped me!
I really tried hard to find a solution but i think i lack of some info, and i can't go any forward, so please help me out!

Macbook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.6)

Posted on Feb 6, 2011 1:25 PM

3 replies

Feb 6, 2011 1:35 PM in response to Michek

1 That's a Windows problem, not a Mac problem. You might get better help on a Windows forum.

2 You might have been better served to have installed Win7 64 than 32.

3 If the game wants DirectX 9 and won't work with DirectX 11, it might be a good idea to contact the game's vendor. Also, you might try downloading DirectX 9 from sites such as <http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/directx.html>. (Note: download Windows drivers at your own risk. I have not downloaded anything from that site. I do not have any connection to that site other than knowing that it allegedly has DirectX 9 available for download. Use at your own risk. I'd back up before installing, but YMMV.)

Which game is this? What are the system requirements? Hint: some games which run in WinXP will NOT run in Vista or Win7. What are the hardware requirements?

Feb 6, 2011 1:39 PM in response to Charles Dyer