Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Double disk usage?

I am a photographer, so my MacBook's disk space is precious to me. The problem is, iPhoto makes this difficult. I have about 16.7 gigabytes of photos in my physical iPhoto Library. But the iPhoto library archive in the pictures folder in Finder is using 39.2 gigabytes. Can anyone tell me why iPhoto is using twice as much disk space as it should be? If so, how would I fix this?

Thanks in advance!

Aluminum Unibody Macbook (Late 2008), Mac OS X (10.6.6), iPhoto '09

Posted on Feb 9, 2011 7:14 PM

18 replies

Feb 9, 2011 10:38 PM in response to amarkon

That is not unusual

iPhoto always uses additional storage - it is a Digital Manager (a DAM) -- as "a Photographer" you certainly understand the criticality of always keeping your negatives (the digital negatives in this case) - iPhoto does that -and more - it keeps a thumbnail of the photo for quick access and keeps a database with the Metadata and your projects in it

That being said your excess space is high - right click on the iPhoto library and see what is taking so much space and report back - ignore the originals folder and modified folders and focus on any large folders other than them - there may be some excess space in some

In andy case it is critical that you never make any changes in the content or structure of the iPhoto library - there really are not any user serviceable parts in there

LN

Feb 12, 2011 8:09 PM in response to LarryHN