You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

DVD-R versus DVD+R

I am preparing to use iDVD to burn a quick time iPhoto slideshow. I plan to duplicate the DVD once I have a master copy.

Given that this is all I plan to do, is there any reason that a -R would be better/worse than +R?

I am looking for the format that would be the most compatible across the widest range of DVD players. I suspect at this point in time it makes little difference, but would appreciate hearing any opinions. Thanks.

2009 iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.4)

Posted on Feb 17, 2011 1:47 PM

15 replies

Feb 17, 2011 3:00 PM in response to Tom Kirkman

I agreee. In case you want to know more about why:

More information on DVD-R v. DVD+R here:

http://www.answerbag.com/q_view/2279

http://www.diffen.com/difference/DVD%2BRvsDVD-R

and (about coating quality):

http://adterrasperaspera.com/blog/2006/10/30/how-to-choose-cddvd-archival-media

and that last article includes information on where (in the US) you can buy Taiyo Yuden media.

Feb 17, 2011 8:29 PM in response to Tom Kirkman

DVD+R media is newer than DVD-R and contains better error correction. However, many older DVD players won't play DVD+R media, so for best compatibility we recommend DVD-R media.

You don't say how you plan to duplicate your master disc. If you plan on having a third party company make the dups, I suggest you ask them which media they prefer and recommend.

If you plan on making the dups yourself, create a disk image file out of iDVD (an option under FILE) and make your burns using the disk image file (.img) using Apple's Disk Utility or Roxio's Toast Titanium. Note that the disk image is independent of the media type you plan on using.