Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Copying DVDs to an iPad... Is it possible? Which formats?

Okay, now before everyone rips into me and goes off about piracy and theft and all that stuff, lemme explain...

I'm a pilot working toward my instrument rating. I have 18 hours of instructional DVDs -- THAT I PAID FOR WITH GOOD OLE (SOON TO BE WORTHLESS) US DOLLARS -- and I was wanting to rip them into another format and store them on an iPad. The only reason I want an iPad is for the ForeFlight App which is something that countless pilots have migrated to in favor of a paperless cockpit.

My plan was to buy an iPad2 and use it for all of my aviation tasks which would be 1) navigation with the GPS capability, and 2) flight instruction with the training DVDs and website tests.

I'm a long time Apple user, but never owned an iPad. I've read that the iPad can only play certain video formats, and to store DVDs on an iPad you have to "jailbreak" it, whatever that means.

In a nutshell, I just want to know if it's possible for me to store my DVDs on an iPad2. I have about 80GB of DVD video that I would need to compress to fit onto a 32 or 64GB iPad.

MacBook Pro 2.53 GHz Intel Core i5, Mac OS X (10.6.4), 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Posted on Mar 5, 2011 12:13 AM

38 replies

May 11, 2013 7:24 AM in response to DorianJ

Hello, DorianJ. Yes, it's possible to copy DVD to iPad. If you buy the DVD movie, it should comes with a digital code, you can use the code to download the digital version of the movie into your iTunes and sync the movie to your iPad. If you don't have the code, you have to convert the DVD movie to mp4 video for transferring to iPad. And here is a step by step guide about how to do that, it works pretty well for me.

http://www.dvdtoipadripper.com/how-to-rip-dvd-convert-video-to-ipad.html

Contact me if you need further help.

Mar 5, 2011 1:09 AM in response to DorianJ