Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. help pls!

Hello,

This is my first time using itunes! can someone help me please.
When i try to install the itunes, it prompted me a message that says

"There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact your support personnel or package vendor."

And i called up APPLE and they ask me to use the 6-steps uninstall mathod but i couldnt find any apple software update to uninstall so i ignore. and i tried downloading again and again but it stil doesnt works.

Can someone guide me how to install itunes?

Thank you so much

ACER, Windows Vista

Posted on Mar 11, 2011 6:38 AM

36 replies

Mar 11, 2011 7:00 AM in response to sereneczy

Do you have any of the 6 programs listed in the following link currently installed?
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1923
That is to say are any of them listed under Control Panel>>Programs.

If so try to uninstall them using the method in the link. Post any error message you receive doing this.

Download a fresh copy of the iTunes installer and save it on your PC.
http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/
Also download the version of Quicktime that does not include iTunes.
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/win.html

We will try insatlling in phases once you let me know how you got on with the uninstalls.

DO you have 32 bit Vista? It is helpful to put that information in your sig.

Mar 11, 2011 7:14 AM in response to polydorus

Hi there,

Thank you so much for the reply.

I have got only 5 out of the 6 components.
3.Apple Software Update is not seen in my control panel.

I have uninstall the 5 components but when i try to install the itunes again, it is stil not available. and everytime there are only 5 components.

Is there anyway i could solve the problem? is it because i install it incorrectly?