Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is this possible? live vocal loops, guitar loops/effects.

Hi, I am a solo artist.
I use a boss rc-50 loopstation, a korg electribe (drum machine), a fender telecaster, and an effects board with delays and other effects.
when I play live I run a midi cable out from my rc- 50 and in my electribe drum machine.
I run my guitar into my effects board then into my rc-50, I also run a mic though my rc-50 for vocal loops.
I have one more mic running just out the pa. I play light techno, pop music.

I recently purchased logic studio 9 and I am trying to see if I can pretty much do all of what I explained above through my mac, that would make life much easier, especially set up and take down.
if anyone has any ideas or suggestions please let me know,
Thanks!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.6)

Posted on Mar 14, 2011 2:46 PM

25 replies

Apr 7, 2011 12:42 AM in response to jhart26

Hi

The short answer is yes....

see http://www.apple.com/logicstudio/mainstage/ and the manual for details.

Mainstage has a Loopback plugin which will do the "live looping", all the effects you'd want and all capable of being controlled from a MIDI controller.

Some might find that the loop pedal you already have is easier to use, even if you integrated it into a Mainstage rig.

CCT

Apr 7, 2011 2:50 PM in response to jhart26

Totally possible. The FCB1010 is a good foot controller to use, around $100 too, so not a bad deal. You have the right Idea, syncing ultrabeat up - the only thing is that you have to program your sequences into ultrabeat and send a midi note to switch between them.

Then you route your inputs to the LoopBack plugin. You can also use PlayBack to run your backing tracks if running the drum machine is too much for you. I recommend mapping the tempo to an on screen number as well as the measure count.