Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I set domain and range in grapher.app?

Hey, I'm brand new to this program, and i can't figure out for the life of me how to set the domain and range of an equation.

For example, if i had the equation y=x^2 , how would i go about setting the x values>0?
Any quick replies are very appreciated! Its rather urgent.

17 Powerbook G4

Posted on Mar 17, 2011 12:39 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 1, 2011 6:04 AM

Apple's Grapher does, in fact, have this capability. It's a shame that Apple's documentation is very poor. Grapher is a wonderful application. In any case, here is how to do it:

The general syntax is:
y = condition(s) ? expression

So for example, if you only wanted to graph the positive x values of x^2, you would enter:
y = x > 0 ? x^2

You can also have multiple conditions, separated with an ampersand (&). For example, the sinx graph from -pi to pi:
y = x > -π & x < π ? sinx

You can even limit the range. Example:
y = y < 5 ? x^2
This only shows the parabola up to the y = 5 line.

Again, you can mix and match any set of conditions you desire with the ampersand, including limits on the domain and range within the same set of conditions. Example of x^2 only showing positive x values up to the y = 5 line:
y = y < 5 & x > 0 ? x^2

Hope this helps.
14 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 1, 2011 6:04 AM in response to DR46

Apple's Grapher does, in fact, have this capability. It's a shame that Apple's documentation is very poor. Grapher is a wonderful application. In any case, here is how to do it:

The general syntax is:
y = condition(s) ? expression

So for example, if you only wanted to graph the positive x values of x^2, you would enter:
y = x > 0 ? x^2

You can also have multiple conditions, separated with an ampersand (&). For example, the sinx graph from -pi to pi:
y = x > -π & x < π ? sinx

You can even limit the range. Example: