Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MPEG 1/2 (MPGV) Codec? MPG movie won't play in QT

I have been given several video to encode, however, I cannot view these source videos in QT or in MPEG Streamclip. In QT the screen is black with no audio and in MPEG Streamclip the screen is white with no audio. This makes me think that I am missing a codec. I can open the videos in VLC and when I look under "Media Information" it tells me that the codec is MPEG 1/2 (MPGV). I have searched online and haven't found anything. I have the MPEG 2 component, I have Perian installed (it's installed twice, not sure if that is a problem), I have all the ProRes codecs plus many more. I am a video editor, so I have a lot of different codecs on my machine. Could the combination of different codecs be an issue? I tried opening the videos on a different machine (which has the mpeg2 component as well) and it didn't work. Can anyone help with this issue? I'm going crazy over here!

G5, Mac OS X (10.6.6), QT v10

Posted on Mar 28, 2011 10:29 AM

18 replies

Aug 26, 2011 8:34 AM in response to David M Brewer

David, many thanks for your reply. Sorry for the delay in my response to you.

I think the problem is with the source video being supplied to me, although I can't be totally sure....

I did purchase and install the MPEG-2 component for my Quicktime Pro back in March.

the source video's media info (in VLC) showed it to be MPEG 2.... so I'm figuring either my Quicktime Pro (with its MPEG 2 component) can't handle it... and this is what prompted me to search the web for an answer.... or

the video is somehow encoded in a manner unreadable to me.