You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Keyboard locked in Caps

Hi all,
I have a small problem on my MBA (Late 2010) which is kind of annoying. Sometime, the keyboard decides to lock itself in Caps, and this without pressing on the shift or caps lock keys. In the middle of a sentence, if will decide to lock itself and that sometimes stays for a long time. Try to restart it when it does that, and it will boot in safe mode (as when you press shift during the starting process), minimze app and it will do that in slow motion, as when you press Shift. Not sure it is hardware as it does it without pressing the Caps keys at all.
It just appeared after upgrading to 10.6.7... not sure it is releted?
Any idea (I am not going to be near an Apple store and maintenance Center for a month at least).
thx

MacBook Air (Late 2010), Mac OS X (10.6.7)

Posted on Apr 3, 2011 10:16 PM

11 replies

Mar 18, 2017 4:10 PM in response to JulienSey

Good to hear your problem was resolved.

I sometimes have a similar issue, and it usually isn't related to hardware failure, but the connection. I have my MBP connected to a Thunderbolt Display. I believe the setup can be a bit wonky at times when connecting, so will have the ALL CAPS issue on the attached USB keyboard. Normally, disconnecting the Thunderbolt cable and reconnecting takes care of this.

Apr 3, 2011 10:27 PM in response to JulienSey

First thing I'd try is a SMC reset:

_SMC RESET_

• Shut down the computer.
• Plug in the MagSafe power adapter to a power source, connecting it to the Mac if its not already connected.
• On the built-in keyboard, press the (left side) Shift-Control-Option keys and the power button at the same time.