Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPod Touch 3G in DFU Mode and won't come out

Hello,

My daughter's iPod Touch 3G appears to be in DFU mode, but won't come out. The screen is completely black, and when I attach it to the computer, it comes up with the message "iTunes had detected as an iPhone in recovery mode. You must restore this iPhone before it can be used with iTunes." When I hit the restore button, I receive the error message "software for this iPhone is not currently available. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes and try again."

I've seen this message posted several times in the forum, and I have tried all the troubleshooting tips offered by Apple Support and in the answers to some of the questions. I am a Systems Engineer, so I consider myself pretty technically savvy. These are the steps I have followed so far:

1) Completey removed and reinstalled iTunes according to the instructions provided by Apple.
2) Downloaded the firmware for both the 3G and IOS4 from http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/ and attempted a manual install - when I do this, I receive the error message, "the iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored because the firmware is incompatible"
3) Downloaded RecBoot to attempt to exit recovery mode, but it does not appear to be detecting the iPod.
4) Attempted to exit and re-enter DFU mode several times to no avail.
5) Called Apple Express Lane and was willing to pay the 1 time phone support charge, however the agent told me that he could not help me, and that I needed to take the iPod into an Apple store (the iPod is 190 days out of warranty).

My last effort is to try the install from another PC. So, prior to taking the iPod into the store, I was wondering if anyone has had any success other than the steps I have tried above. I'm appreciative for any assistance anyone is able to provide.

Message was edited by: kander1625

Dell XPS 400, Windows XP