Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Buying a Macbook Pro without tax

Hey everyone. I'm a high school student right now and I've managed to save up a lot of my own money in order to buy the newer 15" Macbook Pros. However, I don't think the standard screen resolution would be suitable for me because I like to work a lot using Photoshop for school, and many other video projects. The problem is this, if I want to upgrade the display to the anti-glare, I'll end up paying another extra $150 on top of the $1,800. After that, the total is $1,950, but here's the bad part. I live in California and tax would be another 10% so basically, I end up paying almost $2,200 for the Macbook Pro that I want. The base configuration for the Macbook Pro 15" with standard everything, I can easily grab from Amazon for about $1,700. I've also tried MacMall because someone told me that they don't charge tax there either and you can do upgrades there too. But sadly, I figured out that they do indeed charge tax for residents of California... Basically, I need help finding a site that will configure your Macbook Pro just like Apple and not charge me tax. If anyone would please help me with this or give me some other type of advice regarding the screen resolution, I would greatly appreciate it. I really don't want to pay an extra $200 worth of taxes just for the anti-glare

Message was edited by: AngkorDeNNiS

null

Posted on Apr 5, 2011 11:15 PM

31 replies

Apr 5, 2011 11:39 PM in response to AngkorDeNNiS

You can buy from a reseller like MacConnection.com however and locate many configurations however they do not have a configuration like Apple. If you want to customize then you will need to save more money to allot for California Sales Tax. Also you may want to look into Apple's Student Discount, if you call the online store they will be happy to explain that program and it's savings to you.

Roger