Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New iPad user getting error message

I just received my new iPad (original) from the AT&T special pricing promotion. I have a 64 GB WI-FI + 3G model. With the special pricing promotion, I had to also purchase a data plan. I am new to this iPad craze, so please bear with me.

I was of the understanding that somewhere in the iPad settings, I could access information about my data plan, add to the data plan, or cancel the data plan. I though I would find this information in Settings/Cellular Data. However, when I tap on Cellular Data and then tap on View Account, I get a message saying "Your account type does not support the view account feature". So after spending several minutes on the phone with an AT&T tech who had no idea of what I was talking about or trying to do, I ended the call.

Can someone please explain to me in simple language what this "Your account type does not support the view account feature" means? Can someone also explain to me how I access information about my data plan, change my data plan or cancel my data plan? Thank you very much.

iPad

Posted on Apr 7, 2011 4:46 PM

4 replies

Apr 7, 2011 6:45 PM in response to joneya105

I'll try to help.....

I have an AT&T iPad 1 without the 3G data plan active. When I touch the Cellular Data button, it takes a few seconds then a window pops open listing all my info (it's blank) and data plan options.
So it sounds like you are not getting to the popup window due to some error.
Try removing and reinstalling the micro-sim. If that doesn't work, and you live near an apple store or the att place you purchased the iPad from, take it in and have them show you how to get it going or they can fix it.

If you go to Apple, you can make an appointment with an expert online at www.apple.com/retail.

Hope this helps....

May 2, 2011 2:14 PM in response to joneya105