Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Using the new Support Communities from an iPad

My primary method of accessing the Forums has been, for the last several months, has been my iPad. I'm finding the new version very difficult to use with my iPad. It my just be my lack of understanding, of course.

What I've had trouble with so far:

Composing an entry: The default editor that comes up doesn't work at all in iCab for iPad. Tapping in the box with any combination of fingers doesn't bring up a keyboard. If I click on the little HTML button, I can type but there is no visible insertion point. Tapping and holding doesn't bring up the magnifying glass so I can't go back and fix typos except by backspacing to the error and typing over.

Personalizing my Homepage: I can't drag widgets in iCab.

And yes, I'm not good with change. 😉

MacBook Core 2 Duo, Mac OS X (10.6.5), Current iPods: 3 Gen Nano, 1st Gen Touch, 3G Touch, 6th gen Nano

Posted on Apr 17, 2011 9:30 AM

20 replies

Apr 17, 2011 11:16 AM in response to Matt K.

Thanks, Matt. I will reach out to iCab. Safari, sadly, doesn't work very well for my "work flow" (no real tabbed browsing, not clip to Evernote). As I make extensive use of tabbed browsing while reading the forums, Safari just doesn't cut it.

I'm sure it will all get sorted out. Good luck dealing with the hysteria until then. 😉

Apr 17, 2011 8:55 PM in response to Topher Kessler

I figured out not to use anything but safari after about two minutes, but the worst thing was we got a glimpse of what is meant to be, then immobile safari, we get even less than the old forums gave us for formatting.

We can't go back to edit a posting.

Can't insert pictures, which would be great for iPad help.