Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I get iTunes to populate the BPM column in my library?

I use beats per minute to select titles for playlists for my water aerobics classes. I figured out how to get the BPM column to appear in my library display, but there are no data in the column. I can't find anything in Help or elsewhere that says how to make that happen. Suggestions? I'm brand new to iPod, iTunes, etc. Thanks!

iPod classic, Windows XP Pro

Posted on Apr 21, 2011 2:23 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 21, 2011 3:28 PM

iTunes has a field for BPM, but offers no means to automatically populate it. To fill it in, you need to use a 3rd party BPM detection program such as Beatunes: http://www.beatunes.com/itunes-automatic-bpm-detection.html

Beatunes operates automatically and is designed to work seamlessly with iTunes.

21 replies

Apr 8, 2014 6:49 AM in response to jeb

jeb wrote:

Thanks ED, but I notice it's fairly pricy at about $40. Is there no other option at a less expensive price?

HI jeb,

There are several cheap or free iOS apps for BPM detection available in the App Store. They are more oriented to displaying BPM rather than directly updating your iTunes database, but maybe that will work for you.

Jul 3, 2015 5:34 PM in response to ed2345