Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Frame forwarding with mac server

Hello,

I'm new with using Mac OS Server (version 10.6.7) and I have my own domain name. When someone my domain they are redirected to my ip-address at home. But when that happens the url changes from www.example.com to 11.22.345.345. So I selected "frame forwarding" to prevent this from happening. But now my site is inaccessible. I'm using the standard Mac Server site with the blog, calendar etc. I have little experience using web servers so please help me without making it all to difficult 🙂

Thanks in advance,

MBKTEL

Mac mini, Mac OS X (10.6.7)

Posted on Apr 22, 2011 1:25 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 22, 2011 7:26 AM

Given you're obfuscating, I can't be certain, but given the combination of obfuscation and problems, you're probably on a residential service tier and using some form of dynamic DNS. Public static DNS with public static IP connections generally don't have these issues.

The easiest way to do this is to set up public DNS to translate to your public static IP, port-forwarding at your gateway (and you probably want one of those) and it'll all work. The public DNS is preferably at your ISP, as (for the security-related services including https and SMTP) your ISP controls reverse DNS translations. This is the typical server-oriented connection.

Frame forwarding is a form of a reverse proxy scheme for web sites, and you likely don't want that.

Your public DNS should translate to your public static IP address, and not a redirect or frame-forward nor reverse proxy of any sort.