Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

removing a final space from a file/folder name using AppleScript

Hi all,

I'm a network admin with three file servers, all hosting staff shared areas that date back to 2003 or so, sometimes even further. We've started using a backup program that kicks up errors and file/folder duplicates every time it finds a file or folder with a space at the end of the file or folder name. Basically I need to figure out some method of searching all files and folders (and subfolders etc) within a certain directory, finding those that contain a space as the final character and removing that space, without removing all the spaces further back in the name.

I would say I'm an applescript novice, but I'm not even that - I'm less than novice. I'm the novice's apprentice's tea boy. So please help - I can't face manually searching every single last file and folder and renaming them to see if there's a terminal space. My backup program tells me which files they are, but there are over 3000 on one server alone - I have other things I need to do over the next 2 years, lol.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Posted on Apr 26, 2011 1:35 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 26, 2011 6:19 AM

If you are willing to use Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal, you can use:

find /path/to/the/starting/directory -name "* "

Which will find every find under that directory which has a trailing space.

64 replies

Apr 26, 2011 6:43 AM in response to MattLucas1505

Hi,

Using the same find command and then mv and wrapping it in Applescript.

Best wishes

John M

set myFolder to "/path/to/the/starting/directory" -- << Change this line.