Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Lost menu bar items, SystemUIServer missing!

Hi there, it's my first time posting on here so apologies if I'm doing it wrong!

I have a problem with lost menu bar items - my clock, airport, bluetooth, volume, etc icons have all dissappeared. After a bit of research it sounds like it's a problem with SystemUIServer, and I've followed the advice given by others about deleting it's preference file and restarting, but that's not working for me. The file isn't recreated when I log back in.

I've looked in console and I'm getting this from it every 10 seconds:

26/04/2011 13:21:27 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[151] (com.apple.SystemUIServer.agent[15107]) posix_spawn("/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemUIServer.app/Contents/MacOS/Sys temUIServer", ...): No such file or directory

26/04/2011 13:21:27 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[151] (com.apple.SystemUIServer.agent[15107]) Exited with exit code: 1

26/04/2011 13:21:27 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[151] (com.apple.SystemUIServer.agent) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds

I recently had a problem with my SSD and couldn't boot from it, but I managed to fix it with DiskWarrior and it's now working again. However it told me that some files were rescued, and they've been put in a folder on my hard drive. I looked through that folder and a few levels down there is an executable called SystemUIServer. I'm wondering if the SystemUIServer got lost from the system when the drive failed, and hence it isn't where it should be and so cannot start, hence the console messages, hence the missing menulets.

Do you think I'm right about this? If I am, how can I restore the SystemUIServer file? Can I simply copy it back, and if so where does it go? If not, do I have to reinstall Snow Leopard? Is there some way I can do a system repair without having to clean install?

Thanks for any help you can give!!