Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Print DOC TITLE and DATE in header or footer

need to add the document title and date to a header or footer and can't find this.

thanks

Posted on May 5, 2011 6:45 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 5, 2011 9:40 PM

What program(s) are you trying to do this from?

23 replies

May 6, 2011 7:16 AM in response to RoryMac

Hi Rory.

Thanks.

I'm new to mac and I have to admit printing has me a bit befuddled over a longish period of time. For instance, the logic behind Print and Print Selected out of Preview seems very strange. If I remember correctly they both only print the sheet you have selected and you have to select all the images/pdf pages to get it to print all the pages in the currently opened window. very strange but I do have a hard time telling what is a bug or just mac being mac.

Anyway, I am printing out of a lot of things which is partly why I find this kind of thing confusing. I wish there was a setting somewhere in the same place at least. It's be fantastic if there was a software with a spreadsheet that let me control this kind of thing at one glance....

Anyway, Preview, Pages, Numbers especially. Various photo imaging/editing and 3D modeling software.

BTW I just printed something out in ConText and the readout at the top of these pages by way of info is fantastic...

Regards and thanks,

Jonathan

May 15, 2011 6:58 AM in response to hotwheels22

Each program would have its own method of creating headers and footers. In Pages, you can add them in the Document Inspector. In Numbers, the cell headers and footers are the page header/footer.

I'm not sure what you are describing in Preview. If you want to print the whole document, just print. If you want to print the selected pages, select the pages you want and select that option.

May 15, 2011 7:15 AM in response to Barney-15E

Hi Barney.