Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone 101 guide error

Hello,

I'm following the "Your First iOS Application" (a.k.a. iPhone 101) and under Chapter 5 on page 40 (of the PDF) where it instructs me to create an action for the button in the nib file named "changeGreeting", I'm getting the following error:

Could not insert new action connection: No @implementation found for the class "MyViewController"

I'm not a programming noob, but I'm new to iOS/Mac programming (I've been developing Windows applications for almost 11 years). I followed the guide very carefully up to this point and everything was working until this.

I'm using the latest version of Xcode (4.02).

It seems to be complaining that it isn't aware of MyViewController, but I don't understand why. Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks.

Posted on May 12, 2011 9:32 PM

25 replies

May 17, 2011 4:50 PM in response to K T

The capitilization problem described in the link above does not appear to be the issue.

Here is the code for MyViewController.h:

#import <UIKit/UIKit.h>

@interface MyViewController : UIViewController {

}

@end

This is the code for MyViewController.m:

#import "MyViewController.h"

@implementation MyViewController

- (id)initWithNibName:(NSString *)nibNameOrNil bundle:(NSBundle *)nibBundleOrNil

{

self = [super initWithNibName:nibNameOrNil bundle:nibBundleOrNil];

if (self) {

// Custom initialization

}

return self;

}

- (void)dealloc

{

[super dealloc];

}

- (void)didReceiveMemoryWarning

{

// Releases the view if it doesn't have a superview.

[super didReceiveMemoryWarning];

// Release any cached data, images, etc that aren't in use.

}

#pragma mark - View lifecycle

- (void)viewDidLoad

{

[super viewDidLoad];

// Do any additional setup after loading the view from its nib.

}

- (void)viewDidUnload

{

[super viewDidUnload];

// Release any retained subviews of the main view.