Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Xcode and bash

Hi everyone!

Im pretty new to the OS X platform, spent a whole lot of time at the Linux command line before i migrated to OS X,

and i do most of my work with regular bash scripts.

My question is about building interfaces to some of these scripts. Display output, get user input and such.

Is this something that can be done using Xcode or Interface builder?

I have done searches but i havent really found anything that applies to what im trying to do.

Maybe i simply should take it as a sign that things are not done this way?

Appreciate if anyone can shed some light on this or point me in the right direction here.

macbook pro, Mac OS X (10.6.6), Backtrack, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD

Posted on May 15, 2011 6:43 PM

3 replies

May 15, 2011 8:02 PM in response to black-karma

You should be able to do this to some extent. How effectively will probably depend on how your scripts are written and possibly on what they're doing.

For example, if the GUI will basically collect input parameters for the script, then call the script with those parameters and then display the results then it should be fairly easy and straightforward to build the GUI for doing that.

If the shell scripts require user interaction while they're running then it's more difficult. Of course if you're willing to rework the shell scripts too then you may be able to ease some of that pain.

Also keep in mind that Xcode is just an IDE so you'll need to write code of some sort to drive the UI and call your shell scripts. I've done what you're asking about on several occasions using AppleScript Studio... which has now morphed into AppleScript Obj-C. I haven't had the opportunity to use AS Obj-C as much as I had used AS Studio but I'm sure it's still just as capable (or even more capable) of doing what you want.