Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

installing HP 1610 to OS 9

I have installed printer driver cd to run in OSX ok and downloaded driver for OX 9 but don't know how to install it in OS 9. Been told I need to install from classic environment but can't be in classic unless running a prog and must quit all applications to do installation...soon as click on installer icon, system reverts to OSX. Have burnt cd of download but still cant open from classic. Any help much appreciated.

i-mac, Mac OS X (10.2.x)

Posted on Jan 9, 2006 11:14 AM

5 replies

Jan 9, 2006 12:09 PM in response to gene32

Hi, Gene. I have no experience with the HP printer for which you're trying to install software. But in order to install the software while running in Classic mode, you may only need to double-click the installer's icon. That should cause the installer to look for OS 9, then Classic should start up to provide the OS 9 environment for the installer, and finally the installer should open and be ready to run.

If that doesn't happen, what does happen when you double-click the installer's icon?

To start Classic without opening any application, go to the Classic pane in System Preferences, click the Start/Stop tab near the top of the window, and then click Start. If you also click "Show Classic status in menu bar," you will then be able to start and stop Classic at any time from the menu bar, without opening Sys Prefs.

Jan 10, 2006 7:23 AM in response to eww