Restoring will reset your iPhone and then iTunes will present you the options of:
- Configure as a new iPhone
- Restore from a back-up
By restoring the back-up all progress that you've made since that back-up will be lost. You can check the time & date of the back-up by going to your iTunes Preferences, category "Devices".