Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Does iphoto 11 convert RAW images to JPEG when you copy them?

I recently started shooting in RAW format using my Canon 400D. These images show up as RAW in iphoto 11, but whenever i copy them (to transfer them elsewhere), and return back to the image in iphoto, it shows up as JPEG only, the RAW format is lost. I did a search using spotlight, but the corresponding RAW file was not found. Is this how iphoto works? Or am i doing something incorrect. Pls help.

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.4.10), MB Intel Core2Duo, 120GB HDD, 4 GB RAM, 2.16 GHz

Posted on May 20, 2011 1:40 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 20, 2011 2:45 AM

Processing Raw in iPhoto

When you import a Raw to iPhoto it automatically makes a jpeg Preview of the shot. Why? Because you can't do anything with Raw - can't print it, share it online, use it in other apps etc. So to allow you to use the file immediately the Preview is available.

You can access the Raw at anytime: You need to export it: File -> Export: and set the Kind to Original

You can, however, also process the Raw in iPhoto simply by editing it. The Raw processing engine in iPhoto the same one used in Aperture, but with less fine control. (Think of the differences between Word and TextEdit, iMovie and Final Cut). The output from the processing then replaces the preview. You can choose to save your output as either jpeg or tiff in the iPhoto Preferences.

When you are processing Raw in iPhoto you will see the Raw badge on the bottom of the iPhoto Window

User uploaded file
Uploaded with plasq's Skitch!

Note: After you have processed a Raw, subsequent edits to the photo are carried out on the processed jpeg (or tiff) not the Raw. If you want to go back to the original then you need to use the Photos -> Reprocess Raw command.

Processing Raw in a 3rd Party Application