Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Do I need antivirus on my iPhone 4?

Recently the local news said that people with smartphones should get antivirus protection on them. My family members with android phones all downloaded some free antivirus apps. Do I need to do this with my iPhone, or is it okay not to? What are my risk factors if I don't?

iPhone 4, iOS 4.2.7

Posted on May 27, 2011 9:28 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 27, 2011 9:29 AM

NO.

There are no viruses affecting iphones.

27 replies

May 27, 2011 11:29 AM in response to ac14

Even on an Android phone, the performance and battery hit you'll take running anti-virus software (it's signficant) probably far outweighs any possible problems that you might get from malware. There have, to date, been very few viruses even for Androids. I've been using Android phones for almost two years. I've yet to encounter any issues with viruses and would never consider putting anti-virus software on them as I've seen how much it slows them down. Local news stations have a very bad habit of sensationalizing everything.

Jul 17, 2011 9:23 AM in response to Wylie-Girl

Wylie-Girl wrote:

Im pretty sure that my iphone got hacked today... what i was typing was being deleted and replaced by other words and i wasnt even touching the keypad. WEIRD AND NOT OK!!!! please tell me there is an anti-virus solution available and some detective app available to help me confirm/clean my phone

That is called 'auto-correction'.

Jun 28, 2012 8:53 AM in response to ac14