Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Minolta PagePro 1250W Drivers?

I have the above printer and cannot seem to get it working with my mac. I know it is unsupported, but have read various other posts indicating that it may be possible. I don't know anything about compiling. Does anyone have some advice/help or a working and compiled driver?

Any help is appreciated.

PowerBook G4 12-inch 1.5GHz w/Superdrive Mac OS X (10.4.3) 4th Gen iPod Clickwheel

Posted on Jan 11, 2006 11:06 AM

1 reply

May 5, 2006 9:58 AM in response to Chad M

I must warn you that this is quite technical. But considering that I have never done any compiling or programming before and was still able to get this to work, then I have faith that you can do the same. 🙂 Minolta printers with a designation of "W" after the model number are "windows compatible only," therefore Minolta refuses to make drivers for us to use their printers with a Mac. However, some genius out there has made a driver for us poor souls. The only problem is that they didn't bother to compile or build it so it will work in Mac OSX. So we get to do that.

First off, you have to install the Xcode tools that come on the Tiger installation disc (disc 1) also known as the developer tools. Once you do that you can follow the these instructions:

1. Create and download a PPD file by clicking here (or copy and paste into your browser): http://www.linuxprinting.org/ppd-o-matic.cgi?driver=min12xxw&printer=Minolta-Pag ePro_1250W&show=0

2. Save that PPD file to Macintosh HD/Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/en.lproj

3. Download and save the latest driver .tar package from the website http://www.hinterbergen.de/mala/min12xxw/ to your "home" folder (the one that looks like a house and has your username on it).

4. Double-click on the downloaded .tar file to extract it.