Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple TV doesn't accept my ID/password when iTunes does?

Hi. I'm new to using the Apple TV and must be doing something wrong as I am unable to purchase anything directly via the Apple TV. One of the nice things about Apple TV is the ability to rent HD movies that are not always available via iTunes. For some reason Apple TV refuses to recognize my Apple id/password pair. Itunes recognizes it , as does the apple site ... obviously as I logged on to write this.... but Apple TV will not. I tried resetting my password. I tried resetting my Apple TV to factory defaults .... No luck!!! I can use Apple TV to see my computer's iTunes collection so I can watch a rental as long as I rent it via my Mac but I can't rent anything at all directly on the Apple TV. I have full connectivity to the Internet. The movie/TV choices are available and I can watch the previews but whenever I attempt to rent anything I enter my ID and password and am told "Unable to Sign In The Apple ID you entered couldn't be found or your password was incorrect". Any ideas?????

AppleTV 2, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Jun 9, 2011 12:20 AM

18 replies

Feb 22, 2017 8:17 PM in response to Sodivein

I have had ongoing problems with my Apple TV not accepting my iTunes ID/password and I am at the point of total desperation! I am very unimpressed with the way Apple TV doesn't want to play properly.

I have not seen a solution that works for me and have no idea how to solve the problem.

• I can log into my iTunes account perfectly on my PC (Windows 10 - wired internet access)
  • I am using a wired internet access on my Apple TV
  • I have reset my Apple TV and then enetered all the details necessary
  • The time zone is set to automatic and IS my local capital city