Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Importing music from my Microsoft Zune into iTunes?

Hey-so I am new to the Mac community. I bought my first iMac this past week. I have had a 32gb Microsoft Zune for years and I have quite a lot of music on it. So is it possible to move the music from my Zune into my iTunes library? If so how would I go about it? I already tried plugging in my Zune player to my iMac and nothing happened.

iPod classic

Posted on Jun 12, 2011 10:36 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 13, 2011 8:08 PM

I figured it out! I simply put the music files from my old computer on to my flash drive, stuck it in my iMac and clicked and dragged them in to iTunes. The only ones that are not working are the WMA files which are used specifically in Microsoft so now I will be working on a solution for that..

7 replies

Jun 13, 2011 8:32 PM in response to tarafromtucson

Go to iTunes > Preferences > General > Import Settings: Import using:

User uploaded file

Any files already in MP3 AAC or AIFF will play with no issue as you have already discovered. Delete the WMA files but do not choose to move them to the Trash. Instead, import them a second time after having made the Import Settings as shown; they will be converted this time. There are third-party apps that will do the job also (such as Audacity) but you can accomplish your goal with iTunes.

Jun 14, 2011 2:18 AM in response to tarafromtucson