Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Spilt beer on macbook...now acting strange...

Hi all, this is my first post on here so ill confess now that i am new to mac's so be gentle 🙂

I made the fatal mistake of leaving a can of beer next to my macbook and my son knocked it over...almost instantly it shut itself down and refused to come back on.

I left it 3 days and tried again and to my surprise it came back on! brilliant...or so i thought. I now have some odd issues.

1. the clock seems to reset itself, i change it back but everytime i reboot it goes again.

2. airport lost my connection details. i re-entred it and wifi connects but i have no internet. Other devices in the house work fine.

3. The fan seems overly noisey, ive never heard it before it is very noticable now.

4. it seems warm...but im not sure if thats my imagination because i can hear the fan working overtime lol.

So i have done the usual and googled my issues and so far have gone through a process of repairing permissions, resetting PRAM, neither have worked.

Now, in my experience in the past issues like the clock were to do with the system battery needing to be replaced. Could this be the same on my macbook?

Sorry if ive missed anything and thanks in advance.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.7)

Posted on Jun 15, 2011 4:35 PM

8 replies

Jun 15, 2011 6:39 PM in response to Benson112

The computer's acting strange because it's drunk! (Sorry, I couldn't resist. 😝 )

I left it 3 days and tried again...