Previous 1 2 3 4 Next 43 Replies Latest reply: Aug 22, 2011 3:34 PM by Csound1
relenned Level 1 (0 points)

I have a Laser Jet Plus 4 printer that works great for me and I want to use it to print from my Macbook Air. How do I do this?

PLEASE, keep in mind that I am a novice with all this and technical terms mean very little to me, Sorry! I basically need step by step instructions.

I know I need a different cord because the Laser jet does not have a USB cord.  but what kind?

I use Verizon Fios Wireless, still have a modem as I use my old desktop to print from at the moment.

PLEASE, in simple terms, can someone help me?

Thank you

MacBook Air
  • chrisfromhopewell Level 4 (1,085 points)

Does it have to have a cord?

• relenned Level 1 (0 points)

I guess no? I really don't know how to do this at all. I don't care if there is a cord or not, just assumed i would need some kind of cord to hook up to USB on the Mac. It's an old printer but it works great!

thanks for the help!

• Csound1 Level 8 (46,992 points)

I believe your LJ4+ uses a parallel connection, you can purchase an adaptor to convert it to USB,

The LJ4+ was also offered with a JetDirect network card and if yours has one you can connect it to your home network.

Finally you could purchase an HP printserver, connect that to your printer & your network.

One of these will work, the 2nd option is cheapest but depends on your particular LJ having a network connector already fitted.

Thanks,

What is a parallel connection?

How do I know if mine has this JetDirect Network card?

Parallel Socket:

parallel.jpg

Cat5 socket:

cat5s.jpeg

If you have only the Parallel then you'll need a converter to USB, if you have the cat5 as well connect to your network (with a cat5 cable)

• Leo Raymaekers Level 3 (695 points)

And here is how the parallel port (aka Centronics port) looks like on the printer :

parallel_printer_side.jpg

An adaptor from Parallel to USB cost around 25€ and looks like this :