Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

AVCHD Rewrapping

Hi,

I am new to HD video editing, and have been using iMovie 11 for a while, but have not been happy with it. I was very excited about Final Cut Pro X, mainly because I was excited about the idea of natively editing my .MTS files from my Canon M41.

I downloaded Final Cut Pro X last night, and I quickly realized I must have misunderstood the whole .MTS editing, since I found out I need to have a camera archive or import the files from the camera. I was really disappointed that I could not take my original .MTS files by themselves and open them without all of the file structure from the original recordings. So, that is a lesson learned, and going forward I will make archives.

So, finally, here comes my question. Upon importing a camera archive file, I do not select any transcoding options, leaving it to native importing. Final Cut imports the videos and shows rendering going on in the background. I assumed that, since it is supposed to work with AVCHD (MTS) natively, it would just reference my .MTS file and bring that in without any transcoding. I found out that it is still creating a new .MOV file conversion from my original .MTS file. The file isn't much bigger, so I assume that Final Cut is just rewrapping it? I really wanted it to work off of the .MTS file because it wouldn't take up more hard disk space just to have a re-wrapped file. This wasn't what I was assuming was native file editing. At work, I use Premiere, and it opens up our Panasonic .MTS files by themselves with no archive or issues. What am I missing? Is this just the way it will work for me? I really wanted to save some space on my hard drives, instead of duplicating each .MTS file as a re-wrapped .MOV file.

Any information would be appreciated! Thanks!

Posted on Jun 22, 2011 8:14 AM

3 replies

Jun 22, 2011 10:56 AM in response to jasond85