Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

If you are a professional, FCPX is unusable

First of all, I'm not in the target group for this app. I'm a video professional, I run a post production studio. This is, despite the name, an upgraded iMovie and has little to do with Final Cut. It has tons of more features than iMovie, but that doesn't change the fact that this is an app for the beginner, hobbyist and not the video professional. If it was called iMovie Pro I would not object. But calling this Final Cut, giving this app the name of this brilliant, but aged, peace of software is nothing short of misleading marketing.

We cannot use an app which main screen is dominated by the message "Import iMovie events". We cannot use an app where you use drop down menus to select resolution. This makes me concerned, what will this leave us? I decided to leave Avid behind long ago, and I definitely haven't changed my mind. Premiere? Maybe in the future, but it still feels too clumsy. I guess we have to stick to good, but flawed and old, Final Cut Pro 7. Just the way we use QuickTime Pro 7 and not QuickTime X.

When Vista came I decided that we couldn't use that and we couldn't stick with XP forever. So we made the switch to OS X, despite the fact that 3D and compositing apps were lagging behind on the system. We did it because we felt there was no future in Windows for us, we couldn't stick with an old system. Now, sadly, I feel the exact same about Final Cut, except I have no other system to go to.

If you are a video professional, I strongly advice you not to buy this app, despite the low price. If you are a hobbyist that like iMovie and want more powerful features, you will love this app.

And, Apple, if you find ONE video editor working on a professional level (no, not a wedding photographer or hobbyist music video maker) that does not agree with the above, please let him explain to me why I'm wrong.