7 Replies Latest reply: Jun 27, 2011 10:30 AM by Gary Markovich
Gary Markovich Level 1 Level 1 (5 points)

I'm hoping the community can help me with a decision.

I am not a professional editor.  I consider myself a serious hobbyist, creating multi-cam “event videography” or documentary videography (as opposed to fictional narrative/story-telling type of movie making).

I was very excited when I watched the NAB video demonstrating FCP X, and was anxious to purchase it when it was released, hoping I would get affordable access to simplified color correction and the ability to view multi-camera shots (I assumed, since it had been a part of FCS).

I have read many postings about FCP X, many of which focused on complaints about this new version. Two things that sent up red flags for me:

1. FCP X does not allow the user to     set the scratch disc. Does this limitation have something to do with     how the program utilizes the 64-bit/multi-core features of the newer     Macs?

2. There is no multi-cam view     editing (at least nothing that I can't do now with FCE).

Several posts have suggested  that Apple has assured users that the multi-cam editing feature will be included in future upgrades/versions, although I've personally been unable to find anything about this provided directly from the Apple web site.

I'm very familiar, (although by no means an expert) with FCE.  I am not at all familiar with iMovie.

In your opinion, should I purchase FCPX and start learning it, with whatever shortcomings exist (and with crossed fingers that multi-cam will be added in the future)

start using iMovie to help familiarize myself with that software's “architecture”--if that's the correct use of the term—in anticipation of the “new and improved FCP X” due sometime in the future (and in the meantime, spend my money on a Blu-ray burner or another external hard drive)?

Thanks for your time and input.

• fearless Level 6 Level 6 (9,520 points)