Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Clean Install Lion...

Hi,

Can I "Clean Install Lion"?

Thanks.

Ed

IMac, MBP, Mac OS X (10.6.6), iMac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Jul 5, 2011 11:40 PM

12 replies

Jul 7, 2011 12:19 PM in response to woodmeister50

This is helpful.

Can I also ask, as I've never done this before, when I perform a clean installation; will I need to re-install all my applications - iWork, MS Office, etc. As these applications require a product-key (at least for MS Office), if it requires me to re-install and activate the software, I'll hit a road-block as I have already used up all the licenses.

Thanks in advance.

Jul 7, 2011 3:21 PM in response to EDLIU

Why do you want to go through all that?

That's rarely necessary, and rarely accomplishes anything (well, nothing good). 😉

OSX is not Windoze; upgrading "in place" does not leave all sorts of stuff behind, or have a negative impact on your Mac's performance.

Apple removed the Erase and Install option, effective with Snow Leopard.

Jul 7, 2011 5:23 PM in response to tanmelvyn

Any application that is not pre bundled and not backed up to hard drive will need to be reinstalled from scratch if you erase and install. There is no such thing as a "clean install." Clone backups at least through Snow Leopard have allowed restores through clones and/or Migration Assistant. The status of the Migration Assistant, and any operating system license limitations are still unknown with Lion since it has not been released. We can't prognosticate on this board, if you read terms of use. Hopefully by the end of this month, Lion will be released and those mysteries will be solved, since Apple announced it will be here this month on http://www.apple.com/macosx/ They have not said what date it will be available. See my FAQ* on clones: http://www.macmaps.com/backup.html

It remains to be seen how true clones are with Lion.