Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't log in local in osx server

I Start the server with a mouse keyboard and display connected to it the login window appear, then I enter with my user and password, but it doesn't login, I try to reset password with the install DVD but after reseting it doesn't work, I try to share screen from other mac and the password works but again I get stuck in the first login window, I'm new to osx server so I need help on how I can login if the password reset utility is not working?

OSX SERVER-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.6.3)

Posted on Jul 21, 2011 11:01 AM

5 replies

Jul 21, 2011 1:12 PM in response to juanlalupa

What might have changed prior to this problem? Anything installed? Anything reconfigured?

The question is not one of why the reset doesn't work. It does. The question is why the valid password is not being accepted, and that points to a problem with the login, with Open Directory, with DNS services, or with some other part of the system environment.

Your posting indicates you attempt a login from screen sharing. Does that not work? (Your phrasing is not clear to me; you seem to indicate that the password works, but that you see a login failure and are stuck at the first window?)

I'd try booting the DVD and running a disk verify and a protection reset (second screen of the installation, via Disk Utility), but my guess is that this configuration is headed toward a full backup followed by a reinstallation, if you can't regain access to an administrative user.